Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
Surveyor Corporation Surveyor SRV-1
Home Help Search Login

Surveyor Robotics Forum

Welcome to the user support forum for Surveyor SRV-1 robots, SRV-1 robot controllers and SVS stereo vision systems. To register for this forum, please send an email to support@surveyor.com which includes your desired forum user name, your registration email address, and a brief explanation of why you wish to join, and we will create a forum account for you.

Please note that there is a Search button in the forum toolbar for forum topics. Another effective search method for the entire surveyor.com site is to use Google, e.g. "xyz site://www.surveyor.com" where "xyz" is the search topic.

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
I2C (Read 1819 times)
YL90
YaBB Newbies

I2C
12/09/11 at 5:43am

I'm a student, currently working on a project, which requires SRV-1 to read from I2C devices.
I'm a newbie in robotics. I've downloaded the latest firmware, and know that many robot functions are declared.

But I have a few questions for the statement "readi2c (int device, int register)".
1. Are both of them written in hex form or decimal form?
2. Is the device corresponds to the device address?  
For example, the connected device is preprogrammed to the address 0x50, and I want to read from it.  
Should I just type readi2c (0x50, 0x00)?
3. How much delay I have to program between each reading?

Thank you.

IP Logged
tjump
Global Moderator

Re: I2C
Reply #1 - 12/12/11 at 5:52am

There is some missing information that makes it difficult to answer your questions. First and foremost, are you planning on using SRV direct commands, picoC, or some other means to poll the device?

T. Jump

IP Logged
YL90
YaBB Newbies

Reply #2 - 12/22/11 at 8:42pm

I'm planning to use a direct command, which found in C interpreter.

int readi2c(int device, int register): read byte from I2C port

IP Logged
tjump
Global Moderator

Reply #3 - 12/23/11 at 12:04am